2024 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

7:00 o'clock p.m. Chairperson Buechler called the meeting of the Planning Commission to order.

1. ROLL CALL

PRESENT: Buechler, Hilton, Muir, Oprita, Wurmlinger

ABSENT: Koob, Mills

ALSO PRESENT: Courtney Landreville, Recording Secretary

Jorja Baldwin, Planning Consultant

Sarah Beebe, Fort Gratiot

Connie Neese, Parks Commission Angela Defrain, Fort Gratiot

2. APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY CHAIR

Motion by Muir, supported by Hilton, to appoint Buechler, as temporary chair. Voice Vote, 5/0. **Motion Carried.**

3. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR, VICE CHAIR AND SECRETARY

Item 3-1: 2024 PLANNING COMMISSION CHAIR

Responsible for presiding over all meetings.

Temporary Chairperson Buechler opened the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Chair.

NOMINATIONS:

Buechler

Temporary Chairperson Buechler closed the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Chair.

CHAIRPERSON:

Motion by Wurmlinger, supported by Hilton, to appoint Buechler, as 2024 Chairperson. Voice Vote, 5/0. **Motion Carried.**

Item 3-2: 2024 PLANNING COMMISSION VICE CHAIR

Acting Chair in case of absence or conflict of interest

Chairperson Buechler opened the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Vice Chair.

NOMINATIONS:

Hilton

Chairperson Buechler closed the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Vice Chair.

VICE CHAIRPERSON:

Motion by Oprita, supported by Muir, to appoint Hilton, as 2024 Vice Chairperson. Voice Vote, 5/0. **Motion Carried.**

ITEM 3-3: 2024 PLANNING COMMISSION SECRETARY

The Secretary is responsible for taking attendance & roll call for voting.

Chairperson Buechler opened the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Secretary.

NOMINATIONS:

Mills

Chairperson Buechler closed the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Secretary.

SECRETARY:

Motion by Buechler, supported by Oprita, to appoint Mills, as 2024 Planning Commission Secretary. Voice Vote, 5/0. **Motion Carried.**

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA: January 9, 2024

Motion by Muir, supported by Wurmlinger, to approve the agenda as printed and posted. Voice Vote, 5/0. **Motion Carried.**

5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES: December 12, 2023

Motion by Oprita, supported by Muir, to approve the minutes as presented. Voice Vote, 5/0. **Motion Carried.**

6. REPORT FROM TOWNSHIP BOARD REPRESENTATIVE: Clerk Robert Buechler

- Elections
- End of year
- New fire chief hired

7. REPORT FROM ZBA REPRESENTATIVE: None

8. PUBLIC COMMENT

- Angela Defrain Solar ordinances and updates, proposed assisted living facility
- 9. PUBLIC HEARINGS: None
- 10. OLD BUSINESS: None

11. NEW BUSINESS:

ITEM 11-1: 2024 PLANNING COMMISSION REPRESENTATIVE SERVING ON THE ZBA

Attend all ZBA meetings, third Tuesday of each month

Chairperson Buechler opened the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Representative on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

NOMINATIONS:

Oprita

Chairperson Buechler closed the nominations for the 2024 Planning Commission Representative on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

PLANNING COMMISSION MEMBER ON ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS:

Motion by Wurmlinger, supported by Buechler, to appoint Oprita, as 2024 Planning Commission Representative on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Voice Vote, 5/0. Motion Carried.

12. <u>COMMISSIONER UPDATES:</u>

- Jorja Baldwin
 - Portside Solar filed appeal
 - Rezoning process/timeline
- Car Wash updates
- Damaged drain by McDonalds

13. ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Muir, supported by Hilton, to adjourn. Vote, 5/0. Time, 7:25 P.M.